Frank L. and Harriet C. Owsley Award

Award Description

The Frank L. and Harriet C. Owsley Award is given in recognition of a distinguished book in southern history published in even-numbered years and is awarded in odd-numbered years. It will next be awarded at the annual meeting in 2021 in New Orleans for a book published during 2020. Presses should send books directly to committee members at the addresses listed below before March 1, 2021.

2021 Award Committee

Sarah Gardner, Chair 
Department of History
Mercer University
1501 Mercer University Drive
Macon, GA 31207

Jim Downs, Gettysburg College
Weidensall Hall
Room 405
300 North Washington St.
Gettysburg, PA 17325-1400

Jessica Millward, University of California, Irvine
UCI Department of History
200 Murray Krieger Hall
Irvine, CA 92617

Past Winners

2021 - Jessica Marie Johnson, Wicked Flesh: Black Women, Intimacy, and Freedom in the Atlantic World, University of Pennsylvania Press

2019 - Elizabeth McRae
Mothers of Massive Resistance: White Women and the Politics of White Supremacy, Oxford University Press, 2018

2017 - Greta de Jong
 You Can’t Eat Freedom:  Southerners and Social Justice after the Civil Rights Movement, University of North Carolina Press, 2016

2015 - Gregory E. O'Malley
Final Passages: The Intercolonial Slave Trade of British America, 1619-1807, University of North Carolina Press for the Omohundro Institute, 2014

2013 - Joshua Rothman
Flush Times and Fever Dreams: A Story of Capitalism and Slavery in the Age of Jackson, University of Georgia Press, 2012

2011 - Lorena S. Walsh
Motives of Honor, Pleasure, and Profit: Plantation Management in the Colonial Chesapeake, 1607-1763, UNC Press for the Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture, 2010

2009 - Annette Gordon-Reed
The Hemingses of Monticello: An American Family, W.W. Norton, 2008

2007 - Raymond Arsenault
Freedom Riders: 1961 and the Struggle for Racial Justice, Oxford University Press, 2006

2005 - Michael O'Brien
Conjectures of Order: Intellectual Life and the American South, 1810-1860, University of North Carolina Press, 2004

2003 - Sharla Fett
Working Cures: Healing, Health, and Power on Southern Slave Plantations, University of North Carolina Press, 2002

2001 - Ronald Hoffman (in collaboration with) Sally D. Mason
Princes of Ireland, Planters of Maryland: A Carroll Saga, 1500-1782, University of North Carolina Press, 2000

1999 - Ira Berlin (co-winner)
Many Thousands Gone: The First Two Centuries of Slavery in North America, Harvard University Press, 1998

1999 - Philip D. Morgan (co-winner)
Slave Counterpoint: Black Culture in the Eighteenth-Century Chesapeake and Lowcountry, University of North Carolina Press, 1998

1997 - Thomas D. Morris
Southern Slavery and the Law, 1619-1860, University of North Carolina Press, 1996

1995 - Nancy MacLean
Behind the Mask of Chivalry: The Making of the Second Ku Klux Klan, Oxford University Press, 1994

1993 - Edward L. Ayers
Promise of the New South: Life After Reconstruction, Oxford University Press, 1992

1991 - William W. Freehling
The Road to Disunion: Secessionists at Bay, 1776-1854, Oxford University Press, 1990

1989 - Eric Foner
Reconstruction: America's Unfinished Revolution, 1863-1877, Harper & Row, 1988

1987 - Gavin Wright
Old South New South: Revolutions in the Southern Economy Since the Civil War, Basic Book, Inc., 1986

1985 - Joel Williamson
The Crucible of Race: Black-White Relations in the American South Since Emancipation, Oxford University Press, 1984