Anne Braden Prize

Award Description

The Anne Braden Prize was established in 2020 to commemorate the centennial of the Nineteenth Amendment, recognizing the right of women to vote. The Braden Prize recognizes an article in a journal or edited book focusing on Southern women’s history. Articles on women from every racial, ethnic, class, or subregional background are welcome. The prize is awarded yearly. Off-prints or articles published in calendar year 2023 should be submitted to Manager, Southern Historical Association by July 1, 2024.

2024 Award Committee

Stephanie Cole, University of Texas at Arlington, Chair
Lynn Kennedy, University of Lethbridge
Valinda Littlefield, University of South Carolina

Past Winners

2023 - Kimberly Mae Welch
“The Stability of Fortunes: A Free Black Woman, Her Legacy, and the Legal Archive in Antebellum New Orleans,” Journal of the Civil War Era (December 2022).