John W. Blassingame Award

Award Description

The John W. Blassingame Award, established in 2004, honors distinguished scholarship and mentorship in African American history.

Recipients of the prize will be based on nominations from the SHA membership. In order to nominate a candidate for the award, a letter describing the person's accomplishments should be sent by e-mail to Manager, Southern Historical Association by June 1, 2024, when it will be forwarded to committee members. At least two supporting letters should accompany each nomination.

For nominations involving a primary role of mentoring African American students, the committee particularly welcomes letters from students, either graduate or undergraduate. Nominees from all areas of the academic community, including those from community/junior colleges, historically black colleges and universities, as well as from large research universities, are welcome. Nominees will be considered based either on distinguished careers as mentors of African American students, personal scholarly accomplishments, or some combination of both. The award consists of a $1,000 stipend, and will be awarded every third year. The next award will be given at the annual meeting in 2024 in Kansas City, MO.

Or mail submissions to: Southern Historical Association, 111 LeConte Hall, University of Georgia, Athens, GA 30602-1602

2024 Award Committee

Deirdre Cooper Owens, University of Connecticut, Chair
Bertis D. English, Alabama State University
Françoise N. Hamlin, Brown University

Past Winners 

2018 - Clayborne Carson

2015 - Brenda E. Stevenson

2012 - Alton Hornsby Jr.

2010 - Arvarh Strickland and Rosalyn Terborg-Penn (co-winners)

2008 - Raymond Gavins

2006 - Sylvia Jacobs

2004 - Bettye Gardner and P. Sterling Stuckey (co-winners)